The Taming of the Shrew

Today I attended my brother’s school’s play, The Taming of the Shrew by Shakespeare. I have to say that it was awesome. I laughed the whole time and it really was a lot of fun. Hats off to the cast and crew. For those of you with an hour and an extra $5 tomorrow, I suggest you go see it at the C.A. Nelson Auditorium at 7.

I just gave them some free PR -_-.

That being said, I was thinking, what is the qualification for someone to be called a genius. While we recognize Shakespeare as a literary genius, what are the specifications he had to meet in order to be called a genius. Was it the vast number of works that he wrote?

I think it has more to do with the fact that genii leave people wondering as to how they did what they did. If you think about someone coming up with a great idea while trying to solve problems (FPS!!), you tend to call that person a genius. Why? Because they did something that appears to be almost inexplicable at the time.

So is there a way to expose this genius?

I don’t think there is a perfect science for it, but I guess if one is constantly thinking and alert, they can pull it off. Often times people think of something to say after the situation, while a genius can quickly come up with a response, right then and there.

Of course, genii like Shakespeare weren’t just regarded highly for their quick thinking, but their long term thinking capability. This leads me to believe that a blend of long term and short term thinking can lead to someone being called a genius…

Bottom line: think!

Leave a Reply

