Blind Beliefs

Yesterday was Friday, the 13th of August, 2010. That’s right, Friday the 13th…which is supposed to bring you bad luck and blah blah blah.

Well guess what? I didn’t have any exceptionally bad luck all of yesterday and I’m willing to bet that you didn’t either.

Why so bold? Because all these superstitious beliefs are plain dumb and utterly useless. Nothing is going to happen to you if you walk under a ladder or step on a crack.

But the underlying problem here is that these superstitions develop in the first place. What is the point of coming up with these baseless things and spreading them around society?

This question has puzzled me for a while and I still haven’t been able to figure it out…probably because there isn’t any particularly good reason for coming up with this, but it may have gone something like this: some random person arbitrarily felt the need to open their mouth and listen to their own voice. And some person standing next to them believed what they had to say.

Or rather, that random person maybe have claimed to have some supernatural powers with which he was in constant contact with the heavens and could serve as a medium between supernatural powers and “mere humans”.

But that also begs this next question. Was the person listening to this humbug sane in any sense of the word? I mean, some random guy comes up to you and tells you he knows all and if you listen to him you can communicate with the gods (or whatever he may have said), and this person would just believe him…just like that?

When I read what I just wrote, I feel it highly unlikely that someone would believe this stuff, yet I see it happen all this indoctrination happening all the time, through different mediums (i.e. TV, movies, politics, religion). Many people just blindly believe what they see or hear…

And let me make it clear that I have no issues with the belief part of it, my problem lies with the blind part of it. It pains me to see people believe things without even attempting to get some verification, or even worst, expect and/or convince me to do the same.

But then again, I might just be too big of skeptic -_-

Leave a Reply

