The iPhone Ringtone

I was at Kroger with my mom when I heard the iPhone Marimba ringtone. I instantly reached for my BlackBerry (yes, I liked it so much that I put it on my BlackBerry) before realizing that it wasn’t my phone.

That ringtone seems to be everywhere, and every few days, I find myself in a similar situation. And today, as I was staring at unripened bananas, I realized that this situation wasn’t about ringtones. It was about how ubiquitous and widespread this particular ringtone, and for that matter the iPhone, iPad, and iPod are. And inevitably in this process, the image of Steve Jobs came to mind.

Steve Jobs has been gone for a little over a month now, but the world still remembers him and probably will for a long time. Just this morning when I was searching for reviews on an app, I came across a site that had a banner across the top saying “AppAdvice wouldn’t exist without Steve Jobs”. Not only did he create Apple, and all the products that went with it, he created an entire industry of apps, docks and other accessories. His inventions allowed others to become inventors.

He reminds me of an old Hindi quote (no it isn’t from Bollywood), it’s from Kabir:

“Jab Paida Hue To Jag Hansa Hum Roye
Aisi Karni Kar Chalo, Hum Hanse Jag Roye”

When you were born, you cried, and the world rejoiced. Do something so that when you die, the world mourns and you rejoice.

We will all die someday, and in most cases, nobody will really care. Nobody will care that we lived and nobody will care that we died. But for those like Steve Jobs or Newton*, the world cares.

I want to be among these select few. I want to be among those that bring inspiration to others by their life story. I want to be synonymous with something positive – like genius and innovation.

Simply put: When I die, I want the world to notice.

It’s time to get cracking.

—-
*Inventing Calculus and Physics might also call for loathing 😛

Leave a Reply

